Supplementing

Retirement has its benefits and downfalls. The benefits of sleeping in are awesome and setting your own schedule of things to do is easier as well. Finding things to do that are not expensive and making a difference in the quality of life for myself and others can be a struggle. One way I have found to supplement my shortcomings is to sit with those older or less healthy than myself. I love to chat with them about their likes, memories as many can definitely pull from the past. It is a slower pace but there is a lot to be said for good conversation. I have even read a book or short story I found to match their interest and learned something new in the process. Many times just listening to others makes their day. Even if it is the same story I heard yesterday. Here is to sitting on the porch rocking and reminiscing to the beat of our own drum.

Leave a comment