Motherhood

An all inclusive word, motherhood, meant to involve years of hard work, caring, cajoling and encouraging our young to grow up not as we do but as we say.  One must definitely lead by example to obtain the best results.  I was reminded of this as I watched the ducks over this last summer at a pond where I met one of my friends just to walk.  There is nothing more uncertain or stressful as being a Mother.  When my mother used to tell me that having children was the easy part it took me until I had my own children to realize that the years I would spend teaching them as they grew up would mean the most and be the most challenging.  Learning to speak a language that my children heard and observing their responses to see the results of my words.

Our house was always full of our girls, their friends and teammates.  I enjoyed watching my two beautiful daughters turn into women and begin to raise their own children.  I have many times been very proud of how they show their love and tough love to mold my grandchildren.  I have been privileged to see five generations together and the values and morals that built a strong family unit who cares about each and everyone in that unit as if they were a child of their own.

As I sail into the sunset and watch my mother I see her still connect with the great grandchildren and treat each one as the special individual they truly are.  Her strength and courage to realize she still makes a big impact keeps her moving on as she knows the goals God has set for her.  I love you Mom, as you continue to guide me, love me and encourage me each time we speak.  Just like the ducks in the pond, life regenerates itself and we not only learn what we live, we pass it on to the next generation.

Leave a Reply

